Skip to content

Searching my website

April 25, 2011

I think the only thing missing is a search engine feature for my final project. I don’t think we’ve talked about this at all in class (or maybe we did and I blocked it out – which is possible).

I definitely think it’s important but I’m not sure what my options are or if I should be worrying about it right now. I plan to leave the site up for a while, so maybe I’ll add the search in a week or two? I’ve looked at the Google search utility and I think it may be suitable. Only thing is, unless I want to pay $100/year, I’ve got to allow ads to appear on the “results” page.  Is that annoying to users? What will this say about my credibility? Not that I’ve “hung my hat” on the content of this definitely entry-level website – it is 10 years old, after all,  and seriously weeded down from the original. But I do want it to be a good website and reflect well on me, particulary since it’s my first such effort.

Anyone have any thoughts on this? I really think a website without a search feature is next to useless and will only drive a potential user away. Maybe all the ads will say about me is that I’m a fiscally challenged graduate student. What do you think?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. zaynawoman permalink
    April 25, 2011 11:58 pm

    I think your site is small enough that a search feature would be redundant. I think, for our purposes (except Alexa) search is overkill. Now, if you take your digital sandbox full scale, then you may want to think about. For now, though, I don’t think it’s necessary.

    • LisaC permalink*
      April 26, 2011 8:33 am

      I suppose you’re right and my site is small enough, but I was also thinking about what if someone comes to it and doesn’t want to read through it, but only wants to know if/what I said about Joseph Brant, or if I mentioned children, or parades, or if they just want to know if I’ve included an image of a commemorative medal…I’d hate to lose a potential reader just because there was no quick way to answer the question that made them click on the website in a Google search in the first place.

      I need to think about this.

  2. April 26, 2011 3:24 pm

    I played around with a google search engine and had some trouble customizing it, so honestly, I just gave up. I’d like to eventually add a search engine, but I didn’t like that the one google provided was so large. I also had a problem with the ads on the results page. I think it may be possible to use google’s API to better customize the search engine on your site, but I haven’t been feeling ambitious enough to look into that more. Let us know if you find something that works!

Trackbacks

  1. Comments – Defining Insanity « Zaynawoman's Blog
  2. Comments | Carried Through History

Leave a Reply

