Skip to content

New Design’s Coming Along

April 17, 2011

…and I’d really like to know what you all think. I’m facing some challenges with my background image – although it looks great on my 2010 Mac, it looks a little less great on my husband’s 2005 PC, whether I use IE or Firefox. I can’t quite keep it from its wonkiness on this older computer.

And if anyone can help me with my linkages, I’d appreciate it. The link from my “Image” assignment to my “Design” assignment doesn’t work. Here’s how I’ve coded it: <li><a href=”http://mason.gmu.edu/~lcarmic3/../design/”>Design</a></li>

This is what I was told to do, since I’m asking it to go out of the “Image” folder, and back down to the “Design” folder. I’m sure it’s something simple. It usually is. I’ve double-checked my folder hierarchy in my “Site” folder and in the upload on the server. Fortunately, you can get to the “Design” page from my Portfolio “Home” and from my “Type” assignment.

So, here’s the “Design“…

Oh, and I’m thinking up another project, a Depression through World War II web archive based on something I was thinking about during Clio I. But it will be more complicated and since Professor Petrik advised against doing something new, it will very likely be an “after this class is over” project. But if I can get a skeleton design up before the end of class, I’d love feedback on that too.

Stay tuned…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2011 6:09 pm

    I’m not sure what the image problem was on your husband’s PC, but I checked in both Firefox 4 and Chrome 10.0 on my PC and they both look fine. It might be an old browser issue if he’s using old versions of those browsers. I can show you on Tuesday from my laptop if you’d like to troubleshoot.

    As far as your linking goes. When I hover over the “bad” link from your Image assignment, it looks like it’s trying to go to /design/ instead of ~lcarmic3/design/. Have you tried just copying the code from a link that works and seeing if that takes?

    • LisaC permalink*
      April 17, 2011 8:14 pm

      Hi Erin! Yes, I looked at the site on Firefox 4 and it still gave me the weird tiling thing with the background image – it should only show one oblong image fixed on each side of the content, no partial images anywhere on either side.

      and the link…is making me crazy. I used the link just as Kate at GMU’s tech support told me to, but it doesn’t seem to work. I’ve tried the link with both the “../” and without, and with and without the final “/”, but neither seems to work. <> Thanks for your help, tho. I appreciate you trying it out. Maybe it will magically appear tomorrow. That’s what happened with the Design page yesterday. It wasn’t showing up at all, but then this morning – voila – there it was. Wierd.

  2. April 18, 2011 8:12 pm

    I like the background image and it looks great on my 2009 Mac (Firefox 4). I’m a HUGE fan of your color scheme. The red, browns, and yellows work so well together. Your poster image could be knocked to the right a bit more (line it up vertically with the text), but it looks very nice. Did you clean it up at all in Photoshop? (And are you going to march out that wonderfully colored version that you did in your image assignment anywhere?) One more tiny thing: I am getting blinder by the year (and am suffering from seasonal allergies right now), but I am squinting to see the explanation at the bottom. I know that is text you want to keep smaller (it’s not the focus), but perhaps a hair or two bigger. Great job!

    • LisaC permalink*
      April 18, 2011 9:22 pm

      Thanks, Laura!…and…done. Shifted the image, extended the hr, made the caption a teeny bit bigger and justified it, as well.

      I did fade out the yellowed background of the engraving, using Prof. Petrik’s methods, but didn’t do anything else except crop it a little. I may use the other colorized engraving. I hadn’t thought to, but if I can figure a way out to do it, I just might.

      Thanks again for the suggestions. I really appreciate the help!

  3. April 19, 2011 1:06 pm

    Hi Lisa — absolutely no problem viewing this in IE so it maybe a version control problem. I agree with Laura – -the color scheme is great, and the visuals really work for you. I also like the periodicity you’ve done in your nav. Will you keep this color scheme for each period, or change it slightly? Just curious.

    re: text on the bottom and Laura’s comment. If you want to keep it that size, you may want to choose a slightly different font that looks clearer at that size. Just a thought from a fellow blind one.

    Anyway, it looks great!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.